The 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for entries.

Entries close 1st November 2016.

The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country. All stories submitted must be unpublished, but both unpublished and published writers are eligible to apply.

The international judging panel comprises one judge from each of the five regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Please note that while the entries will be judged regionally, all judges will read and deliberate on entries from all regions. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Short stories translated into English from other languages are also eligible, and we invite writers from Mozambique who write in Portuguese, and writers who write in Samoan, Swahili and Bengali, and who do not have an English translation of their story, to submit their stories in the original language.


2017 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

Entries are now open for the 2017 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.

The prize, worth £30,000 to the winner, is an international award, founded in 2010, that is open to any story of up to 6,000 words written in English. Stories need to have been either previously unpublished or only published after 31 December 2015. Five authors shortlisted for the award will each receive £1,000. The prize is administered by the Society of Authors.

To be eligible, the author must simply have a record of prior publication in creative writing in the United Kingdom or Ireland.

Entries can be made either digitally by pressing the Digital Entry Form button, or by post, by pressing the Postal Entry Form button, printing the postal form off and sending it together with 11 copies of the story to the address listed on this page.

The deadline for entries is 6pm (GMT) on Thursday, 29 September 2016.

Before filling in the entry form, please read the instructions and the terms and conditions, which are available to download from this page.

For any queries, you can write to The Society of Authors using the postal address, or send an email to [email protected]


Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world. Known from 1996 to 2012 as the Orange Prize for Fiction and in 2013 as the Women’s Prize for Fiction, it is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman and also provides a range of educational, literacy or research initiatives to support reading and writing.
The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is awarded annually for the best full novel of the year written by a woman and published in the UK. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible.
The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. The 2015 winner, awarded on 3 June at the Royal Festival Hall, London, was Ali Smith for her novel How to be Both (Hamish Hamilton).

The full list of previous winners are: Ali Smith for How to be Both (2015); Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing (2014); A.M. Homes for May We Be Forgiven (2013); Madeline Miller for The Song of Achilles (2012);  Téa Obreht for The Tiger’s Wife (2011); Barbara Kingsolver for The Lacuna(2010); Marilynne Robinson for Home (2009); Rose Tremain for The Road Home (2008); Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Half of a Yellow Sun (2007); Zadie Smith for On Beauty (2006);  Lionel Shriver for We Need to Talk About Kevin (2005); Andrea Levy for Small Island (2004); Valerie Martin for Property (2003); Ann Patchett for Bel Canto (2002); Kate Grenville for The Idea of Perfection (2001); Linda Grant for When I Lived in Modern Times (2000); Suzanne Berne for A Crime in the Neighbourhood (1999); Carol Shields for Larry’s Party (1998); Anne Michaels forFugitive Pieces (1997); and Helen Dunmore for A Spell of Winter (1996).